The greatest honour is the respect of readers.

Some of the other honours that have come my way over the years include the following:

Awards & Nominations

  • Winner, Alberta Views Magazine 2019 Short Story Contest, for “The Shave”
  • Winner, City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize, for A Run On Hose
  • Finalist, Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Fiction, for A Run On Hose
  • Winner, Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Prize, for “Letter of Intent”
  • Silver Medal, Independent Publishers Book Award (IPPY),  jointly with Naomi K. Lewis, for Shy: An Anthology
  • Winner, Brenda Strathern Writing Prize (Inaugural winner)
  • Finalist, The Writers’ Union of Canada Postcard Story Competition
  • Winner, Orillia International Poetry Competition (Leacock), limerick category
  • Winner, Alberta Anthology, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (radio broadcast)
  • Nominee, Alberta Magazine Publishers’ Award
  • Nominee, The Pushcart Prize
  • Awards in writing competitions by Prairie Fire, CV2, and Wax Poetry and Art


  • Writer in Residence, Calgary Public Library
  • Writer in Residence, Alexandra Writers’ Centre Society
  • Mentor in the Loop, Alexandra Writers’ Centre Society (inaugural Mentor in the Loop)


  • Canada Council Grant for the Arts Grant for Professional Writers
  • Alberta Foundation for the Arts Award, jointly with Naomi K. Lewis, for editing Shy: An Anthology
  • Alberta Creative Development Initiative Grant